The Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals Squad Announced For FIBA Olympic Qualifier

The tournament will take place in Bourges, France from February 6 to February 9, 2020 and will be the final qualifying step for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.   

For the Opals to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics they will need to finish in the top three of their group, which includes France, Puerto Rico and Brazil.  

The Opals are currently sitting 2nd on the FIBA World Ranking, the highest of the four teams, with France sitting at 5th, Brazil at 15th and Puerto Rico at 23rd. 

Head Coach Sandy Brondello said that the coaching group have chosen a strong selection of players ahead of the tournament.  

“We have named a squad of 20 players for selection for the all-important pre-Olympic tournament in France in February,” Brondello said.  

“The coaches and I will be evaluating all players over the upcoming weeks and will select a team that we believe will get the job done of qualifying for the Olympics in July.   

“With only 2 days to prepare for these games, it is important that the team is fit, healthy and ready to perform to the best of their ability.   

“It is great to include Alanna Smith for the first time this year as she returns to playing in the WKBL (Women’s Korean Basketball League).” 

During this February period, the WNBL will break, to give all league athletes the opportunity to travel to France.  

The Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals Squad: 

Rebecca Allen  Arka Gdynia Poland / New York Liberty 
Abby Bishop  JCU Townsville Fire 
Sara Blicavs  Jayco Southside Flyers 
Elizabeth Cambage  Shanxi Xing Rui Flame/ Las Vegas Aces 
Katie-Rae Ebzery  Perth Lynx 
Darcee Garbin  JCU Townsville Fire 
Cayla George  Deakin Melbourne Boomers 
Kelsey Griffin  University of Canberra Capitals 
Tessa Lavey  Bendigo Spirit 
Tess Madgen  JCU Townsville Fire 
Ezi Magbegor  Deakin Melbourne Boomers 
Lauren Mansfield  Perth Lynx 
Leilani Mitchell  Jayco Southside Flyers 
Lauren Nicholson  Adelaide Lightning 
Jenna O’Hea  Jayco Southside Flyers 
Nicole Seekamp  Adelaide Lightning 
Alanna Smith  Incheon Shinhan Bank S-Birds/ Phoenix Mercury 
Stephanie Talbot  Adelaide Lightning/Minnesota Lynx 
Marianna Tolo  University of Canberra Capitals 
Sami Whitcomb  BLMA France / Seattle Storm 

The 2020 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament schedule: 

February 6, 2020  France v Australia 
February 7, 2020  REST DAY 
February 8, 2020  Australia v Puerto Rico  
February 9, 2020  Brazil v Australia 


Basketball Australia have announced the Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals squad for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament.  

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico