The Australian Boomers Announce Squad for February FIBA Asia Cup Qualifier

The team will play at home in the opening game against New Zealand on February 20 at Brisbane’s Nissan Arena. The Boomers will then be hosted by Hong Kong on February 23.

The squad is led by NBL stars Chris Goulding, Mitch Creek, David Barlow, Cameron Gliddon and Nathan Sobey, who were part of the Boomers team that finished fourth at the FIBA World Cup in September 2019.

Along with a group of established and experienced players, emerging stars including Kouat Noi, Will Magnay and Daniel Grida have also been named in the extended squad.

With Boomers Head Coach Brett Brown unavailable due to NBA commitments, Will Weaver will take on the role of head coach with Adam Caporn and CJ Bruton his assistants.

Weaver, head coach of the Sydney Kings, and Caporn, head coach of Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence, were part of the coaching group that led the Boomers to fourth at the 2019 World Cup and gold at the 2017 Asia Cup.

CJ Bruton, assistant coach at the Brisbane Bullets, is well-known to the Australian basketball community and worked alongside Caporn at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, where the Boomers won gold.

“We’re fortunate to have so many talented players eager to step up whenever they have the chance to represent Australia,” Weaver said.

“It’s always a tremendous honour to be part of the Boomers program and we are excited for this group to start the journey of qualifying for the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup on home soil against New Zealand in Brisbane.”

The final team for the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifier will be announced ahead of the first game on Thursday February 20 at Nissan Arena in Brisbane.


Thursday 20 February 2020 – Nissan Arena, Brisbane at 6.30pm (local AEST)

The Australian Boomers Squad:

Anthony Drmic Adelaide 36ers
Harry Froling Adelaide 36ers
Nathan Sobey Brisbane Bullets
Cameron Gliddon Brisbane Bullets
Matthew Hodgson Brisbane Bullets
Jason Cadee Brisbane Bullets
Will Magnay Brisbane Bullets
Tamuri Wigness Centre of Excellence
Kouat Noi Cairns Taipans
Mirko Djeric Cairns Taipans
Josh Giddey NBA Global Academy
Todd Blanchfield Illawarra Hawks
Daniel Grida Illawarra Hawks
Emmett Naar Illawarra Hawks
Sunday Dech Illawarra Hawks
Sam Froling Illawarra Hawks
Angus Glover Illawarra Hawks
Chris Goulding Melbourne United
David Barlow Melbourne United
Mitch McCarron Melbourne United
Mitch Creek South East Melbourne Phoenix
Dane Pineau South East Melbourne Phoenix
Kyle Adnam South East Melbourne Phoenix
Adam Gibson South East Melbourne Phoenix


The Australian Boomers have announced a 24-player squad for the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico