The tournament, which will be held in New Caledonia from August 19-24, is the first step for the 2021 FIBA Under-19 World Cups.

These teams will be aiming to finish in the top two of the Under-17 Oceania Championships which will advance them to next year’s Under-18 Asian Championships and success there will see them earn qualification for the Under-19 World Cups in 2021.

Led by head coach Phil Brown, the women’s team features Gemma Potter and Jade Melbourne who will bring their experience from last year’s bronze medal win at the Under-17 World Cup.

Katie Deeble, Charlise Dunn, Shaneice Swain, Paige Price and Millie Prior have also worn the green and gold previously at the 2018 Under-15 Oceania Championships where Dunn and Price were named to the All-Star Five.

The men, led by head coach Mark Radford, have significant experience at the international level as well.

Tamuri Wigness has competed at the 2018 Under-17 World Cup, won gold at the 2018 Under-18 Asian Championships and is soon to represent the Emus at the 2019 Under-19 World Cup.

Blake Jones was a part of last year’s Under-17 World Cup as well while Wigness and Paul Tsapatolis participated at the 2017 Under-16 Asian Championships.

In addition, Tsapatolis was one of a trio of Victorians that claimed gold at the Australian Under-18 Championships earlier this year along with Leyi Adebayo and Josh Giddey.

Stay tuned for an announcement from FIBA with the tournament schedule.

The 2019 Australian men’s and women’s FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships teams:

Ryan Abbott New South Wales Kate Deeble Queensland
Leyi Adebayo Victoria Charlise Dunn Victoria
Taran Armstrong Tasmania Jade Melbourne Victoria
Biwali Bayles New South Wales Neferatali Notoa Queensland
Joshua Giddey Victoria Olivia Pollerd Victoria
Blake Jones Queensland Gemma Potter Victoria
Lucas Schmidt Queensland Paige Price Victoria
Reyne Smith Tasmania Millie Prior New South Wales
Paul Tsapatolis Victoria Kelsey Rees South Australia
Tamuri Wigness Queensland Shaneice Swain Queensland
Mark Radford Head Coach Phil Brown Head Coach
Jacob Jackomas Asst. Coach Jackie Lear Asst. Coach
Michael Cassidy Asst. Coach Reece Potter Asst. Coach
Mark Sainsbery Team Manager Lisa Page Team Manager
Sathya Sankarasubramanian Physiotherapist Lauren Dixon Physiotherapist
Dr Tim Echevarria – Delegation Physician
Following the weekend’s selection camp at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence, the men’s and women’s teams for the FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships have been selected.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico