Two Victorians in Kobe King-Hawea and Eliza Hollingsworth as well as two athletes from New South Wales in Isabel Palmer and Shyla Heal will continue their scholarships next year as well as Taylor Mole (Tasmania), Isabelle Bourne (ACT) and Ashlee Hannah (Queensland).

“We have had the privilege of working with these seven dedicated individuals over the last 6-12 months and believe they will continue to build, grow and develop throughout their time at the CoE in 2018,” said Centre of Excellence Women’s Program Head Coach, Kristen Veal.

2018 is sure to be a busy period for the CoE athletes as they will compete in the Under-17 World Championships, Under-18 Asia qualifiers, 3×3 events and a full SEABL season among their regular duties at the CoE.

“Four of the returning athletes are also coming off recent gold medal success at the Under-16 FIBA Asia Qualifiers and we are looking forward to working with these young athletes as they work towards selection into the Under-17 Sapphires team.

“We are thrilled to be working with Australia’s best young basketballers to help them realise their short-term representative goals and earn the opportunity to showcase their hard work, skill and talent at a variety of levels.

“The CoE would like to acknowledge the support of family, friends, junior associations, state and high-performance programs. We recognise the importance of these key people in the continued development of a CoE athlete and are grateful for the ongoing work and care they provide these aspiring young players.”

Stay tuned in the coming days for the release of the new scholarship holders for the women’s CoE program in 2018 as well as announcements on the men’s program.

2018 CoE Returning Athletes:

Taylor Mole – Tasmania

Isabelle Bourne – Australian Capital Territory

Kobe King-Hawea – Victoria

Eliza Hollingsworth – Victoria

Ashlee Hannan – Queensland

Isabel Palmer – New South Wales

Shyla Heal – New South Wales

Following on from last week’s announcement on the graduating women of Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence 2017 class, the returning athletes for 2018 have been announced.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico