The squad will assemble at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence in Canberra from August 6-8 as they set their sights on qualifying through the FIBA event in Bengaluru, India between October 28- November 3.

Since the first camp in March, coach Dee Butler and her staff have been able to get a look at athletes from the Under-18 national Championships while seven members of the Australian Sapphires team that will contest the FIBA Under-17 World Championship next month have been selected to participate in the August camp as well.

The Gems qualified for the Under-18 Asian Championships by winning gold at the Under-17 Oceania Championships last year and if they finish in the top-four at the tournament in India later this year, they will book their place at the 2019 Under-19 World Cup.

Australia have a proud history at the Under-19 World Cup with the Gems claiming medals across three decades including a gold in 1993 while the team has been a springboard for the careers of Opals legends such as Lauren Jackson, Kristi Harrower, Michelle Brogan and Penny Taylor.

The Australian Gems camp squad ahead of the 2018 FIBA Asia Under-18 Championships:

Isabelle Bourne ACT
Eve Braslis Victoria
Emma Clarke Western Australia
Chelsea D’Angelo Victoria
Agnes Emma-Nnopu Victoria
Alex Fowler Queensland
Adelaide Fuller Queensland
Miela Goodchild Queensland
Ashlee Hannan Queensland
Shyla Heal New South Wales
Kobe King-Hawea Victoria
Jade Kirisome Queensland
Sophia Locandro Victoria
Jessica McDowell-White Queensland
Ula Motuga Queensland
Isabel Palmer New South Wales
Gemma Potter Victoria
Maddi Puli Victoria
Kelsey Rees South Australia
Lily Scanlon Victoria
Jazmin Shelley Victoria
Samantha Simons South Australia
Dee Butler Head Coach
David Herbert Assistant Coach
Claudia Brassard Assistant Coach
Donna Turner Team Manager
Jessica Thornton Physiotherapist
Maja Markovic Physician
Basketball Australia is pleased to announce the squad for the Australian Gems second camp as preparations continue for the 2018 FIBA Under-18 women’s Asian Championships.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico