Both squads will step foot on the court with strong team line-ups and determination. The Boomers, currently ranked third in the world, will need to show their talent against the Tall Blacks, who currently rank in at 24th, to increase their chances of representing Australia at the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Finals.

This is the first time the FIBA Asia Cup has held a qualifying phase. The Boomers, being drawn to Group C and will compete against New Zealand, Hong Kong and Guam. The qualifiers will be played across three windows set for February 2020, November 2020 and February 2021, with the top two teams in each group qualifying for the FIBA Asia Cup Finals in 2021.

Fans can expect to see some of the greatest national talent taking to the court tomorrow night. Among the roster, are six debutants that have been handpicked by interim Boomers coach, Will Weaver. The players will face the court with a plethora of experience and bring strong competition to the match. The debutants include Illawarra Hawks’ Angus Glover, Sam Froling and Sunday Dech; South East Melbourne Phoenix’s Kyle Adnam and Dane Pineau; plus, Centre of Excellence small forward Josh Giddey.

You won’t want to miss the epic clash tomorrow night between these two trans-Tasman rivals. Be a part of all the action by grabbing some last-minute tickets here.

You can also show your support by watching the match live on Fox Sports Australia or streaming it through Kayo Sports.

The Australian Boomers team for the first window of 2021 FIBA Asia Cup qualifiers:

Kyle Adnam South East Melbourne Phoenix
Todd Blanchfield Illawarra Hawks
Jason Cadee Brisbane Bullets
Cameron Gliddon Brisbane Bullets
Sunday Dech Illawarra Hawks
Sam Froling Illawarra Hawks
Josh Giddey Centre of Excellence
Angus Glover Illawarra Hawks
Daniel Grida Illawarra Hawks
Matt Hodgson Brisbane Bullets
Dane Pineau South East Melbourne Phoenix
Nathan Sobey Brisbane Bullets


The Australian Boomers are set to face the New Zealand Tall Blacks tomorrow night in the first of their FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers. Tip-off commences at 6:30 pm (AEST) and will be held at Nissan Arena in Brisbane.


Powered by WPeMatico