2019 Victorian Kevin Coombs Cup team announced

Returning as defending champions to the Kevin Coombs Cup, the Australian national under-23 wheelchair basketball tournament, the team features five players from the 2018 campaign who played crucial roles in Victoria winning its first title at the Kevin Coombs Cup tournament held in Geelong.

Jaylen Brown, Teisha Shadwell, Isabel Martin, Campbell Fraser and Bailey Jankovic are back in the line-up as well as a number of new faces including 2018 emergencies Chithic Machar and Mitch Bond.

Newly appointed head coach Ben Hodgens said the group’s strong mix of experience and developing players will give Victoria a great foundation to build on heading into the tournament.

“Our returning players, several of which are involved in development with the national teams, provide a strong core group,” Hodgens said. “This core then supports our less-experienced players, lending leadership as well as guidance.

“Further, these players work hard and are dedicated to their own improvement, and that of the team as a whole.

“We have a good mix of experienced and developing players in this year’s team, so they’ll be able to give other teams a really good run – I’m very optimistic of the team’s outcome in the championships come April.

“Teisha Shadwell and Jaylen Brown will draw plenty of attention as they return to the team, as both have continued to improve since the 2018 tournament.

“Isabel Martin, Bailey Jankovic and Campbell Fraser look to continue their recent good form and improvement with a good showing at the championships.

“Finally, our newer faces, Chithic Machar, Mitch Bond, Brianna O’Bryan and Charles Smart will look to make a strong start to their Victorian representation in 2019.”

The Kevin Coombs Cup is run by Basketball Australia and runs alongside the Australian Under-18 Junior Championships from 13-20 April in Townsville.




Chithic Machar – Melton West

Brianna O’Bryan – Strathfieldsaye

Jaylen Brown – Warrnambool

Teisha Shadwell – Rowville

Isabel Martin – Oakleigh

Campbell Fraser – Ringwood

Bailey Jankovic – Berwick

Mitch Bond – Geelong

Charles Smart – Narre Warren



Head Coach: Ben Hodgens

Assistant Coach: Jason Bryant

The post 2019 Victorian Kevin Coombs Cup team announced appeared first on Basketball Victoria.

BASKETBALL Victoria is proud to announce the 2019 Victoria Kevin Coombs Cup wheelchair basketball team, set to defend their title at this year’s tournament in Townsville.

The post 2019 Victorian Kevin Coombs Cup team announced appeared first on Basketball Victoria.

Jarrod Potterhttp://basketballvictoria.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/cropped-bv-fav-32×32.png

Powered by WPeMatico