Rowville Secondary College and Trinity College have taken home the Championship Division gold medals after two impressive performances on the last day of competition.

Coming into the final, the unbeaten Rowville faced another undefeated side in Immanuel College but they flexed their muscle with their exceptional defence, holding Immanuel to 16 first half points.

Rowville were only in front by five at quarter-time but made their move in the second term to push out to an 18-point advantage at the main break.

Despite Immanuel finding their three-point shot in the second half via Gabriella Vidmar (21 points, ten rebounds), they could not make any inroads on the scoreline as Rowville secured a 75-52 victory.

Leah Santomaggio led her side with 27 points, nine rebounds, five assists and five steals while Lauren Staples-Tuplin (14 points), Louise Karajic-Powell (13 points) and Eliana Bravington (11 points, 14 rebounds) also impressed, helping to answer the best efforts of Immanuel’s Amy Cotton who had 12 points and 19 boards.

In the men’s Championship Division final, six-time Champions Lake Ginninderra took on Trinity College who were aiming for their first title.

The Lakers started hot in a fast-paced contest and gained an eight-point lead at half-time behind the play of Tristan Scotcher (22 points) and Anyang Garang (17 points, ten rebounds, two steals).

However, Trinity fought back in the third quarter as they began to exert their influence on the glass and in the paint, almost matching their first half output of 30 points with 25 in the period.

Jackson Walsh (19 points, 12 rebounds), Apiok Dau (12 points, 16 rebounds) and Magok Manyang (12 points, 13 boards) all played crucial roles in the comeback.

While it gave them a two-point lead heading into the final quarter, Mohamed Jalloh helped Lake Ginninderra recover to take a 61-60 advantage with eight minutes remaining.

However, Trinity were not going to be denied and they responded by scoring the next 14 points with Kalani Sapwell (18 points) and Isaac Atuer (12 points, seven assists, four steals) connecting from distance with three big triples as they went on to win 79-68.











Overall, Rowville were the most successful school as they came away with three gold medals and a bronze.

St. Ignatius impressed in the Under-20 men’s division with two gold medals and Encounter Lutheran claimed two gold’s in the Under-17’s while Doncaster SC and Berwick College have each gone home with two silver medals each.

Find the stats and results for all games and LiveStats from the Championship Division here as well as the final standings for every division below.


Championship Division- Men
1. Trinity College
2. Lake Ginninderra College
3. Rowville Secondary College
4. Willetton SHS
5. Newington
6. Brisbane Boys
7. Sydney Boys High School
8. St. James College
9. St. Kevin’s
10. St. Augustine’s

Championship Division- Women
1. Rowville Secondary College
2. Immanuel College
3. Willetton SHS
4. Hillcrest Christian College
5. Lake Ginninderra College
6. Henley High
7. Caulfield Grammar
8. Westfields Sports

Under-20 Division One- Women
1. Maribyrnong
2. Loreto College
3. Yarra Valley Grammar
4. Bendigo SSC
5. Lowanna College
6. Mater Christi
7. Berwick College
8. Hallam SC

Under-20 Division Two- Women
1. John Paul College
2. Guilford Young College
3. Willetton SHS
4. Tenison Woods College
5. Hunter Sports High School
6. Central Coast Adventist
7. Erindale
8. Mount Lilydale
9. Redlands

Under-20 Division One- Men
1. St. Ignatius College
2. Yarra Valley Grammar
3. Maribyrnong
4. Flinders College
5. Aquinas
6. Mountain Creek State HS
7. St. Joseph’s
8. Henley High
9. Hallam SC
10. Berwick College
11. Lilydale HS
12. Melbourne HS

Under-20 Division Two- Men
1. Guilford Young College
2. Cabra Dominican College
3. Encounter Lutheran College
4. Tenison Woods College
5. Knox Grammar
6. The Scots College
7. Point Cook Senior

Under-20 Division Three- Men
1. St. Ignatius
2. Newington
3. Scotch Oakburn
4. The Scots College
5. St. Patrick’s College Ballarat
6. Redddam House
7. Central Coast Adventist
8. Willetton
9. Hunter Sports High
10. Mount Lilydale

Under-20 Division Four- Men
1. Brisbane Adventist
2. Bonnyrigg High School
3. Redlands
4. Erindale
5. Phoenix Community College
6. Avondale
7. Macleod College

Under-17 Division One- Girls
1. Rowville Secondary College
2. Tenison Woods College
3. Catherine McAuley College
4. Maribyrnong
5. Sheldon College
6. Berwick College

Under-17 Division Two- Girls
1. PBC Reds
2. Aquinas
3. Karabar High
4. Trinity College- Beenleigh
5. Mater Christi

Under-17 Division Three- Girls
1. Encounter Lutheran College
2. Mountain Creek SHS
3. Pymble Ladies College
4. Brisbane Adventist College
5. Doncaster SC
6. All Saints Anglican School
7. Willoughby Girls HS
8. Denmark SHS

Under-17 Division One- Boys
1. Westfields Sports
2. St. Dominic’s College
3. Box Hill SSC
4. MacKillop College
5. Xavier College
6. Berwick College
7. Rowville Secondary College
8. Hillcrest Christian College
9. Bendigo South East College
10. Trinity College- Beenleigh
11. St. Joseph’s College
12. Newington College
13. Maribyrnong

Under-17 Division Two- Boys
1. Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School
2. Doncaster SC
3. Hunter Sports High
4. Aquinas
5. Cabra Dominican
6. Hunter Valley Grammar
7. Lowanna College
8. Tenison Woods College
9. The Southport School
10. Endeavour
11. Yarra Valley Grammar
12. Berwick College

Under-17 Division Three- Boys
1. Encounter Lutheran College
2. Berwick Grammar
3. St. Augustine’s
4. Sydney Boys
5. Chisholm Catholic COllege
6. Knox Grammar
7. Newington College
8. Damascus College

Under-17 Division Four- Boys
1. Denmark SHS 1
2. Doncaster SC
3. Somerset Spartans
4. Cheltenham Secondary College
5. Hunter Sports High
6. Alamanda College
7. Denmark SHS 2
8. Chisholm

Under-15 Division One- Girls
1. Rowville Secondary College
2. Hillcrest Christian College
3. Loreto College
4. St. Luke’s Grammar
5. Rotorua Girls High
6. Berwick College
7. Lowanna College
8. Maribyrnong
9. Willoughby Girls High

Under-15 Division Two- Girls
1. Aquinas College
2. Firbank Grammar
3. Albert Park College
4. Mater Christi College
5. Yarra Valley Grammar
6. Berwick
7. Doncaster

Under-15 Division One- Boys
1. Caulfield Grammar
2. Berwick College
3. Hillcrest
4. Westfields Sports
5. Rowville
6. Maribyrnong 1
7. Newington College
8. Bendigo South East
9. The Scots College
10. Yarra Valley
11. Maribyrnong 2

Under-15 Division Two- Boys
1. St. Joseph’s College
2. Albert Park College
3. Aquinas College
4. Berwick College Blue
5. Berwick College White
6. Girton Grammar
7. Doncaster SC
8. Chisholm
9. Cheltenham Secondary College
10. Somerset Spartans
11. Hunter Valley Grammar

The post 2018 AUSTRALIAN SCHOOL CHAMPIONSHIPS DAY 5 RECAP appeared first on Basketball Australia.

Recap Day 5 of the 2018 Australian School Championships held in Melbourne, Victoria and the final standings from each division.

The post 2018 AUSTRALIAN SCHOOL CHAMPIONSHIPS DAY 5 RECAP appeared first on Basketball Australia.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico