Representing seven states and territories around the country as well as New Zealand, teams will compete across 20 divisions with close to 2,000 athletes participating during the week.

The divisions include Senior Under-20’s, Junior Under-17’s and Freshman Under-15’s competitions for the men and women while the Championship Division is the most prestigious, featuring the highest ranked schools from Australia.

The Champion Division teams can be found below.

State Men Women
ACT Lake Ginninderra Lake Ginninderra
NSW Newington College Mont Sant’ Angelo
QLD St James College St Margaret Mary’s College
SA Trinity College Henley High
VIC Box Hill Senior Secondary College Rowville Secondary College
WA Willetton Senior High School Kennedy Baptist College
Wildcard John Paul College (Qld) Bendigo Senior Secondary College (VIC)
Wildcard Marcellin College (VIC) Willetton Senior High School (WA)

Victoria are the most represented state with 71 teams while NSW have 40 and Queensland are represented by 18 teams.

Berwick College have boosted their chances of taking home a medal with a record six teams participating, followed by Maribyrnong with five and Box Hill Senior Secondary College, Bendigo South East College, Rowville Secondary College and Beaconhills College who are all bringing four teams.

There will also be several sides to keep an eye out for as they aim to defend their title from last year including Maribyrnong in the Under-15 Girls and Boys Division 1, Carey Baptist Grammar in the Under-17 Boys Division 1 and St. Paul’s Anglican Grammar School for the Under-20 Women.

Find the full list of teams here while the draw can be found here.

Stats, results and ladders for the 2017 Australian School Championships are available online via the Basketball Australia website here.

Entry to the tournament is free throughout the week with the State Basketball Centre, Knox Basketball Stadium and Nunawading Stadium hosting games.

2017 Australian School Championships
4 – 8 December, 2017
State Basketball Centre – 291 George Street, Wantirna South
Knox Basketball Stadium – Park Crescent, Boronia
Nunawading Stadium – East Bruwood Reserve, Burwood Highway, East Burwood

The largest event on the Junior Championships calendar, the 2017 Australian School Championships will see 150 teams descend on Melbourne from December 4-8 with the opening ceremony held at 6pm on Sunday, December 3.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico