The 2017 Australian School Championships have come to a close with St. Margaret Mary’s College and Box Hill Senior Secondary College taking out the Championship Division gold medals after two thrilling Grand Finals.

Trailing by eight points at three-quarter time against Lake Ginninderra, St. Margaret Mary’s put in a stirring performance in the final term to overrun their opponents and win 61-58.

Alex Fowler (15 points, 21 rebounds) and Majella Carey (16 points, 14 boards) dominated the glass all game before combining for 14 points down the stretch while Chailee Ward proved clutch from the free-throw line to finish with eight points in the victory.

The Lakers were led by Taylor Mole (20 points, eight rebounds, three assists) and Jasmine Simmons (23 points, ten boards, five assists, six steals) who both played all 40 minutes of the contest while Simmons also had a chance to take the game into overtime with her shot falling short.

Lake Ginninderra suffered more heartbreak in the men’s final in a highly entertaining 71-87 loss to Box Hill SSC.

Leading by only three points at the final change, it was anyone’s game before Box Hill ran away with the win courtesy of an incredible performance from Keli Leaupepe (35 points on 15-30 shooting) and Tyler Robertson (19 points, eight rebounds, six assists, two steals) who knocked down 16-18 from the charity stripe.

Max Richards also brought the crowd to its feet with a three-quarter time buzzer-beater from long range which helped combat the performances of Mate Colina (30 points, 15 rebounds) and Matthew Johns (23 points, six assists).

Box Hill SSC had more success in the Under-17 Girls Division 1, losing only one game for the tournament (to eventual bronze medalists Hillcrest Christian College) to bring home a second gold medal for the school.

Mater Christi College also took home two gold medals, sweeping the Under-20 Women Division 2 and Under-17 Girls Division 2 without a loss for the week.

Maribyrnong were the other female school to finish on top in two divisions as they won every game across the Under-20 Women Division 1 and Under-15 Girls Division 1.

Casey Paea, Kira Bennett and Alex Keating all averaged double-figures for the Under-20 team while three-point specialists Abby Hildebrand and Tylah Hooper paced the Under-15’s.

The fourth and final school to bring home two gold medals was Rowville as they dominated proceedings in the Under-20 Men Division 1 (winning by an average winning margin of 31.7 points before Barker pushed them all the way in the final) and Under-17 Boys Division 1 where they saved their best for last with a 73-31 thrashing in the final.

The other gold medalists were Karabar High School, Encounter Lutheran College, Unley High School, Avondale College, Lilydale High School, Whitefriars College, Huntingtower School, Aquinas College, Berwick Grammar, Albert Park College and Damascus College and you can find the full standings below.


Championship Men
1. Box Hill SSC
2. Lake Ginninderra
3. Willetton SHS
4. St. James
5. John Paul College
6. Newington
7. Marcellin
8. Trinity

Championship Women
1. St. Margaret Mary’s
2. Lake Ginninderra
3. Bendigo Senior Secondary
4. Willetton
5. Henley High
6. Rowville
7. Kennedy Baptist
8. Monte Sant Angelo

Under-20 Women Division 1
1. Maribyrnong
2. Box Hill SSC
3. St. Paul’s Anglican
4. Barker

Under-20 Women Division 2
1. Mater Christi
2. Willetton
3. Brisbane Adventist
4. Chisholm Catholic
5. Erindale
6. Redlands

Under-20 Men Division 1
1. Rowville
2. Barker College
3. Henley High
4. Hillcrest Christian College
5. The King’s
6. Mountain Creek
7. Hallam Secondary College
8. Sydney Boys
9. St. Joseph’s
10. Saint Francis Xavier

Under-20 Men Division 2
1. Encounter Lutheran
2. Maribyrnong
3. Melbourne High
4. Knox Grammar
5. The Scots
6. Point Cook Senior Secondary
7. Shore
8. Beaconhills
9. Scotch Oakburn

Under-20 Men Division 3
1. Unley
2. Willetton SHS
3. Erindale
4. Newington
5. Bendigo Senior Secondary

Under-20 Men Division 4
1. Avondale
2. Shore
3. St. Andrew’s
4. Redlands
5. Brisbane Adventist

Under-17 Girls Division 1
1. Box Hill SSC
2. Lowanna
3. Hillcrest Christian College
4. Rowville
5. St. Luke’s
6. Westfield
7. John Paul College

Under-17 Girls Division 2
1. Mater Christi
2. Bendigo South East
3. Carey Baptist
4. Beaconhills
5. Doncaster SC
6. Pymble Ladies

Under-17 Girls Division 3
1. Karabar
2. Rotorua
3. Alkira
4. All Saints Anglican
5. McKinnon
6. Damascus

Under-17 Boys Division 1
1. Rowville
2. St. Joseph’s College
3. Lowanna
4. Box Hill SSC
5. Cabra Dominican
6. Newington
7. Carey Baptist
8. St. Domincs
9. Xavier
10. Maribyrnong
11. Bendigo South East
12. Westfield

Under-17 Boys Division 2
1. Lilydale
2. Cheltenham Secondary
3. Aquinas
4. St. Luke’s
5. Chisholm Catholic
6. Mosman
7. Beaconhills
8. Southport

Under-17 Boys Division 3
1. Whitefriars
2. Sydney Boys
3. McKinnon
4. Penleigh and Essendon Grammar
5. Encounter Lutheran
6. Endeavour
7. Alkira
8. Rockingham
9. Knox Grammar
10. Mountain Creek
11. Beaconhills
12. Newington









Under-17 Boys Division 4
1. Huntingtower
2. Central Coast Adventist
3. Berwick Grammar
4. Macleod
5. Fairhills
6. Weeroona
7. Hunter Valley Grammar
8. All Saints Anglican
9. Cheltenham Secondary College

Under-15 Girls Division 1
1. Maribyrnong
2. Berwick
3. Hillcrest
4. St. Joseph’s
5. Chisholm Catholic
6. St. Luke’s
7. Bendigo South East

Under-15 Girls Division 2
1. Aquinas
2. Mater Christi
3. Berwick
4. Mosman
5. Berwick White (mutual forfeit)
6. Doncaster SC (mutual forfeit)









Under-15 Boys Division 1
1. Berwick
2. Doncaster SC
3. Westfield
4. Aquinas
5. St. Joseph’s
6. Bendigo South East
7. Newington
8. Maribyrnong
9. Hillcrest Christian College
10. Shore

Under-15 Boys Division 2
1. Albert Park
2. Berwick White
3. Rockingham
4. Chisholm Catholic College
5. Berwick
6. Shore
7. Brighton Grammar

Under-15 Boys Division 3
1. Damascus
2. Berwick Grammar
3. Alamanda
4. Shore

A recap of Day 5 from the 2017 Australian School Championships in Melbourne, Victoria.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico