The appointments of John Carey and Kym Pfitzner follow a ballot with over 30 candidates, with voting conducted via virtual video conference for the first time in the organisation’s history due to current COVID-19 restrictions.

They replace outgoing Board members Ian Silk and Brian Delaney, who confirmed they would not be re-contesting their positions ahead of the weekend’s vote.  The new members will join BA Chair Ned Coten, Deputy Chair David Reid and current Board Members Bronwyn Marshall, Anna Cicognani and Nickie Scriven.

BA Chair Ned Coten said he was pleased to welcome John and Kym on their appointments to the Basketball Australia Board.

“We look forward to bringing John’s legal expertise and project management experience on board. John is currently a Basketball Queensland board member and is already familiar with the basketball community, our opportunities, and our challenges, and we look forward to his insights” says Coten.

“Kym brings 30 years of corporate government consulting and financial management experience to the role and currently serves as Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee and Member of Finance Committee and Member of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee for the Australian Red Cross.”

Mr Coten thanked Ian and Brian for their contributions to the Board and says their counsel and guidance will leave a lasting impact on Australian Basketball.

“We would like to extend our deepest gratitude and well wishes to Ian as he departs the Board after serving one term, elected in March 2017. Ian has been a valued member with our Board and has shown the highest commitment in his positions, with his vast experience of significant value on the Finance Audit & Risk Committee and as the inaugural Chair of the National Integrity Advisory Group,” says Coten.

“We would also like to thank Brian for his leadership and counsel in helping BA solidify its financial viability and business growth over the last five years. He has been an exemplary and vital member of the Board and it has been a pleasure working with him.”

Mr Coten also thanked the State and Territory bodies for their attendance and participation at this weekend’s AGM.


“Basketball in Australia is fortunate to benefit from passionate and committed leaders throughout our State and Territory organisations and I would like to thank them for the attendance and participation in this weekend’s AGM,” says Coten.


Basketball Australia Board Members:

Ned Coten (Chair)

David Reid (Deputy Chair)

Bronwyn Marshall

Anna Cicognani

Nickie Scriven

Kym Pfitzner

John Carey

Basketball Australia has welcomed two new members to its Board of Directors following elections held earlier today at the 2020 BA Annual General Meeting. 


Powered by WPeMatico