Three new Directors join Paralympics Australia Board

O’Callaghan said former Chief Justice of the Queensland Supreme Court Tim Carmody, Chief Operating Officer of Frizelle Sunshine Prestige Rebecca Frizelle and Paralympic gold medalist Grant Mizens will bring unique and important skill sets to the Board at a pivotal time in the organisation’s history.

The trio joins O’Callaghan, Vice Presidents Helen Nott and Annabelle Williams and fellow Directors Lachlan Harris, John Hartigan, and Rosie King.

“We are delighted to welcome new Directors of such outstanding calibre. They are joining a passionate and committed Board all striving to improve Para-sport in Australia in close collaboration with our staff and PA’s partners,” O’Callaghan said.

“While the challenges facing our organisation and our industry are significant, it is a time of immense opportunity for the Paralympic movement and I’m excited to see what we can achieve together.”

During a stellar judicial, law enforcement and academic career, Carmody was Chief Justice of Queensland between July 2014 and July 2015 and then served as a Justice of the Supreme Court until his retirement in September 2019. He previously served as a police officer, barrister, Queensland Crime Commissioner, Family Court of Australia judge and Chief Magistrate of the Magistrates Court of Queensland.

In addition to her role as COO of Frizelle Sunshine Prestige – an arm of one of Australia’s leading automotive groups – and directorships in the automotive, education and philanthropic sectors, Frizelle is a co-owner of the Gold Coast Titans NRL Club having previously served as Chair, the first female Chair of an NRL club in history.

And while Carmody and Frizelle are new to the Australian Paralympic family and will bring diverse and fresh perspectives, Mizens will bring experience as a revered member and long-time contributor, primarily to the sport of wheelchair basketball.

During 150 international appearances for the Australian Rollers, Mizens was part of the team’s most successful era highlighted by Paralympic gold in 2008 and World Championship gold in 2010. He has since developed a promising coaching career and become an accomplished public speaker and disability advocate on top of his profession in financial asset management.

“In response to COVID-19 and the postponement of Tokyo 2020, PA has undertaken a significant change in recent weeks as continue our work to safeguard our organisational and financial sustainability,” O’Callaghan said.

“The appointment of our new Board Directors will bolster our ability to develop Para-sport at all levels and strengthen Australia’s proud Paralympic history with Tokyo 2020, Beijing 2022 and Paris 2024 on the horizon

“Together with our existing Directors and their wealth of experience and expertise, we are extremely well-positioned to keep driving our movement forward.”

Paralympics Australia’s Board of Directors will expand to nine members after President Jock O’Callaghan today announced three new appointments.


Powered by WPeMatico