Competing in Noumea, New Caledonia between August 19-24, the Australian teams will be aiming to finish in the top two of the tournament to advance them to next year’s Under-18 Asian Championships which will give them the opportunity to qualify for the 2021 Under-19 World Cup.

All 43 athletes will attend a three-day camp at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence from June 21-23 from which two teams of 12 will be selected to represent Australia in New Caledonia.

The selected athletes were chosen following the conclusion of the 2019 Australian Under-18 Championships as well as their accomplishments in State Performance Program (SPP) events and Australian Development Camps.

Five players in the women’s squad are coming off a gold medal at the Under-18 Championships with Vic Metro’s Leia Hanafin, Keeley Evans, Charlise Dunn, Gemma Potter and Emily Sewell all named while silver medalists with QLD South, Kate Deeble, Georgia Woolley and Grace Ellis have also been included.

Deeble, Dunn, Shaniece Swain, Paige Price and Millie Prior also provide international experience having competed at last year’s FIBA Under-15 Oceania Championships where Dunn and Price were named to the All-Star Five.

The men have significant experience at the international level as well with Tamuri Wigness and Blake Jones representing Australia at last year’s FIBA Under-17 World Cup while Wigness was joined by Paul Tsapatolis at the 2018 FIBA Under-16 Asian Championships.

Tsapatolis claimed gold at the Australian Under-18 Championships last month alongside Leyi Adebayo, Josh Giddey and Zac Taylor.

They got the better of SA Metro’s Ethan Bryan, Lewis Rowe, Sebastian Griffin and Ben Griscti in the final while NSW Metro’s Biwali Bayles, Clancy Bird and Ryan Abbott won the bronze medal.

The Australian men’s and women’s squads for the 2019 FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships:

Ryan Abbott New South Wales Amy Cotton South Australia
Leyi Adebayo Victoria Kate Deeble Queensland
Taran Armstrong Tasmania Charlise Dunn Victoria
Biwali Bayles New South Wales Grace Ellis Queensland
Clancy Bird New South Wales Keeley Evans Victoria
Ethan Bryan South Australia Leia Hanafin Victoria
Josh Giddey Victoria Sharn Haywood Tasmania
Sebastian Griffin South Australia Kitty Henderson New South Wales
Ben Griscti South Australia Chloe Hodges South Australia
Josh Hunt Western Australia Ruby-Belle MacDonald New South Wales
Blake Jones Queensland Jade Melbourne Victoria
Dan Rogers Western Australia Isabelle Morgan New South Wales
Lewis Rowe South Australia Gemma Potter Victoria
Patrick Ryan Victoria Paige Price Victoria
Lucas Schmidt Queensland Millie Prior New South Wales
Zak Simons New South Wales Kelsey Rees South Australia
Reyne Smith Tasmania Portia Size South Australia
Zac Taylor Victoria Emily Sewell Victoria
Paul Tsapatolis Victoria Shaniece Swain Queensland
Kane Waters Western Australia Georgia Woolley Queensland
Tamuri Wigness Queensland    
The selection process for the 2021 FIBA Under-19 World Cup has begun with the announcement of the men’s and women’s squads for the 2019 FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships this August.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico