Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals announce team for FIBA Woman’s Asia Cup

A team of 12 has been selected for the tournament, to be held from September 24-29.

The Opals capped off training camp in winning style, defeating the Chinese national team, 98-63, in front of 3215 fans at AIS Arena on Thursday night.

“It’s just a valuable experience for us going into Asia Cup because every team is different. Japan will be a little bit different too, so it’s about us being able to adapt on the fly,” head coach, Sandy Brondello said after the win.

China will join the Philippines and New Zealand in Group B with the Opals. Japan, Korea, Chinese Taipei and India will make up Group A.

The Opals will begin their Asia Cup campaign against the Philippines on Tuesday, tip-off is at 5:45pm (AEST).

All Opals games will be LIVE on Fox Sports channel 507.

FIBA Asia Cup Team:

Rebecca Allen New York Liberty

Abby Bishop JCU Townsville Fire

Sara Blicavs Southside Flyers

Katie Ebzery Perth Lynx

Darcee Garbin JCU Townsville Fire

Cayla George Deakin Melbourne Boomers

Ezi Magbegor Deakin Melbourne Boomers

Leilani Mitchell Phoenix Mercury

Lauren Nicholson Adelaide Lightning

Jenna O’Hea Southside Flyers

Nicole Seekamp Adelaide Lightning

Stephanie Talbot Minnesota Lynx


Tuesday, September 24 v Philippines – Tip-off at 5:45pm (AEST)

Wednesday, September 25 v New Zealand – Tip-off at 5:45pm (AEST)

Thursday, September 26 v China – Tip-off at 8:00pm (AEST)


Winner of group advances. 2nd and 3rd place teams to play on Friday, September 27.

Semi-final on Saturday, September 28.

Final on Sunday, September 29.


After completing a week long training camp at the AIS in Canberra, the Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals will now fly to Bengaluru, India, for the FIBA Woman’s Asia Cup.

Basketball Australia

Powered by WPeMatico