Basketball Australia has committed to embark on another chapter with FIBA in this second Esports Open competition, after claiming the Oceania Conference Championship title in the inaugural competition played from June 19 – 21, 2020.

Australia was one of the original 17 countries to participate and continue to play a part in the expanding world of FIBA’s international competitive Esports.

The Australian roster for this weekend’s event (14 – 15 November), consists of five returning players who participated in the original competition: Jonte Burns, Cooper Cameron, Max Ellwood, Benjamin Klobas, Cameron Sloper and one substitute to be named who will play with the team on Sunday night.

The Australian roster including PlayStation Network/Player Name (PSN) and primary playing position are as below:

PSN Name Full Name Primary
AnkleTV Jonte Burns Small Forward
CQOPR Cooper Cameron Shooting Guard
Squoogs Max Ellwood Centre
Waurk Benjamin Klobas Point Guard
DunkGod Cameron Sloper Power Forward

Conferences have been divided according to geographical conditions and server distributions, seeing Australia compete in the South East Asia Conference against Indonesia and Philippines. Each nation will go head to head against one another three times before the top two teams contest in a three-game series for the champion title. The games will be played remotely on the Playstation 4 game, NBA 2K21, using the Pro-AM mode.

All games will be streamed by FIBA live with commentary in English. YouTube, Twitch and Facebook are the available viewer platforms.


Australia’s Esports schedule below:

Saturday 14 November

10:00pm (AEDT) v Indonesia

10:30pm (AEDT) v Philippines

11:50pm (AEDT) v Indonesia


Sunday 15 November

12:20am (AEDT) v Philippines

10:00pm (AEDT) v Indonesia

10:30pm (AEDT) v Philippines

11:00pm (AEDT) – Australian Captain interview


Three-game finals series – Top two teams only:

Sunday 15 November

11:20pm (AEDT) – Game 1

11:50pm (AEDT) – Game 2

Monday 16 November

12:20pm (AEDT) – Game 3

Earlier this month, FIBA, the International Basketball Federation, announced an expanded field of 38 national teams to partake in the second edition of the FIBA Esports Open, set to take place over three weekends with six regional conferences.


Powered by WPeMatico